Old Presbyterian Church



History in Ireland

History in Ballyclare

News and Upcoming Events

Annual Report 2006
Annual Report 2007
Annual Report 2008
Annual Report 2009
Annual Report 2010


  Bookmark and Share with friends

The Non-Subscribing Presbyterian Church of Ireland is a small but significant denomination with a historical witness to liberal Christianity. Although a separate denomination in its own right, it has no exact parallel with any other church outside Ireland and may best be understood in relation to Irish Presbyterianism, within which tradition it had its origins and with which it still retains a deep affinity.

History in Ireland

1613 - Edward Brice becomes the first Presbyterian Minister in Ireland.

1642 - The First Presbytery in Ulster set up in the town of Carrickfergus

1725 - The First Non-Subscribing Presbytery formed. Antrim Presbytery stood alone in defence of the sufficiency of Scripture and the supremacy of the teaching of Jesus Christ on all questions of Faith and Duty.

1829 - The second and better known controversy over the principle of non-subscription within the Synod of Ulster brought to the forefront two men of outstanding character and ability. Dr. Henry Cooke commanded the support of the subscribers; Dr. Henry Montgomery was the champion of those who espoused the non-subscribing principle. These two men propounded and defended their respective conservative and liberal principles. Dr. Henry Montgomery, Minister of Dunmurry, led three presbyteries; Armagh, Bangor and Templepatrick, representing seventeen congregations out of the Synod of Ulster and formed the Remonstrant Synod in 1830.

1910 - The Remonstrant Synod and the Presbytery of Antrim drew closer together and eventually, in 1910, they united to form the General Synod of the Non-Subscribing Presbyterian Church of Ireland.

1935 - The Synod of Munster, an old and historic Non-Subscribing Synod, was welcomed into fellowship with the Non-Subscribing Church.

Now - Our Synod, or General Assembly, consists of three Presbyteries and thirty-four congregations. All these congregations together form and constitute the Non-Subscribing Presbyterian Church of Ireland.



This website designed, hosted and maintained by Web Working for You Ltd